yazilimweb tasarim

Leigh Miners Rangers 24 Wigan St Patricks 22

Mar 15 • Archived Match Reports, Senior Club News • 1740 Views • Comments Off on Leigh Miners Rangers 24 Wigan St Patricks 22

For the second week running Miners seized a last gasp winner as Adam Thomason’s try five minutes from time put the hosts ahead for the first time in the game to pick up a priceless winner on the opening day of the season. With Pats 14-0 ahead after barely ten minutes a repeat of last season’s Conference Cup mauling appeared on the cards but Miners responded superbly to secure a priceless victory.
Pats will rue this one, having led for much of the game, but they finally broke despite the efforts of Joe Prior, Kieran Harrison and Jayden Sandford. Miners used their substitutes to great effect with Mick O’Boyle and Shaun Dowie standing out upon their introduction as they opened with a win for the third season running.
Pats were fastest out of the blocks, Miners spilling the kick-off and from the position Marlon Alker drove over under the posts, Dan Birkett goaling. Straight from the kick off Pats were in again, Sandford sprinting clear from half way to dive in at the corner, and with Birkett converting and then adding a penalty Pats were in command.
Miners began to establish a foothold as Adam Thomason charged over out wide, then put winger Harry Gagen in for his first try in Miners colours, Jonny Youds converting. However right on half time Pats were back on top as Declan McLoughlin was first to Prior’s kick through under the posts, Birkett goaling.
Miners opened the second half strongly and O’Boyle drove through from fifteen metres out to reduce arrears, but Pats kept their noses clear with Birkett’s penalty. However as time ticked down Miners seized their chance, Tommy Parkinson charging through for the score and although the conversion was missed the momentum was with the hosts, and with five minutes remaining Scott O’Brien put Thomason in for his second and the clincher.

Miners – Jonny Youds, Harry Gagen, Brad Hargreaves, Adam Thomason, Haydn Bud Skinkis, Tony Doyle, Scott O’Brien, Matt Astley, Danny Jones, Darryl Kay, Tom Parkinson, Ellis Grimes, Tom Farrimond Subs – Mick O’Boyle, Chris Bowers, Shaun Dowie, Martin Gray
MoM – Mick O’Boyle

Pats – Mike Scrivens, Dan Birkett, Earl Hurst, Jayden Sandford, Andy Higham, Declan McLoughlin, Joe Prior, Kieran Harrison, Marlon Alker, Jamie Winstanley-Bristo, Charlie Mitchell, Liam Gannon, Jonny Brown Subs – Ryan Braddock, Brad Smith, Sean Foster, Ryan Ashall
MoM – Joe Prior

Referee – Jamie Callaghan

Related Posts

Comments are closed.

« »