yazilimweb tasarim

Siddal (Grand Final)

Oct 29 • Senior Club News, Uncategorised • 1089 Views • Comments Off on Siddal (Grand Final)

Its Grand Final day on Sunday when Leigh Miners Rangers and Siddal battle it out for the second year running for the right to be crowned the Kingstone Press Cider NCL Premier Division Champions, Kick off 3pm at The Select Security Stadium in Widnes.

Miners go into Sunday’s grand final rematch on the back of a excellent 22-20 final eliminator playoff victory away at West Hull last weekend, being made to work very hard especially in defence from start to finish against a good West Hull outfit, In attack two tries apiece from u18s wingers Will Ashworth and Todd Fenlon along with three Jonny Youds goals was enough to send Miners through to their second successive grand final.

The squad that as trained this week have had a couple of sessions under their belt in preparation for the biggest game of the year, with the seventeen named to take on Siddal having the privilege on Thursday night after training of being presented their grand final shirts by inspirational local lad Ben Robinson (Ben’s Wish).

The players know that they are going to have to be at their very best, especially in defence if they are to be crowned champions against a very good Siddal team. It’s something they are all looking forward to though as they are determined not to let all the hard work they have put in since January go to waste, by putting one last huge effort in on Sunday to win the title again in the clubs 50th year.

Coach Allan Coleman makes one change from the side that got Miners to the final at West Hull last weekend, with Prop Chris Bower coming in for full back Jonny Youds who unfortunately misses out for a second year running due to his sons christening on Sunday.

Speaking about last weeks final eliminator victory on Humberside, Coach Allan Coleman said “At West Hull we played the perfect game, when we didn’t have alot of possession we defended brilliantly and it frustrated them.”

“When we did get possession, we completed well and got points on the board, which is what you need in semi final rugby.”

On this weeks grand Final that Coleman will unfortunately miss due to a family holiday in Florida, he added “We go into the final as underdogs and we like that, We’ve been underdogs in all the big games this year.”

“We know the qualities of Siddal and we have to be at our very best to beat them.”

“But we’re a team who like to worry about our own performance, I think we have shown again this year that we have a mentality of knowing how to win, We fear losing.”

“It’s going to be a great final as the two best teams are in it again.”

“I would like to thank all the players who have played there part in us getting to the final,they have been fantastic.”

“I would also like to thank my backroom staff who don’t get the recognition they deserve, they are an outstanding team who work tirelessly for the boys.”

“It’s the last time I get to speak about the lads, I want to thank them for so many fantastic memories, but one more to make!”

“One word springs to mind when people ask me about the lads and club and that’s “PROUD”.

“Thank you and good luck fellas”

Siddal will go into Sunday’s final as favourites and rightly so after having an excellent season in where they have only lost only four league matches, finishing six points clear at the top of the table to win the minor premiership.

Gareth Greenwood’s men will no doubt be freshened up and raring to go after only playing twice in the last five weeks and after losing out to Miners in last years final, Siddal will be out for revenge as they look to get their hands on the biggest trophy in the amateur game for the first time since 2009.

Leigh Miners Rangers Grand Final Squad

Will Ashworth (u18s)

Matt Astley

Chris Bower

Mitchell Cox

Robert Crompton (u18s)

Joe Digby (u18s)

Tom Farrimond

Todd Fenlon (u18s)

Gary Gittins

Lee Gittins

Martin Gray

Andrew Groves

Jordan Hellam

Darryl Kay

Jake Lloyd (u18s)

Ian Mort

Mark Nicholson

Mike O’Boyle

Scott O’Brien

Sam Peet

Connor Ratcliffe

Jonny Youds

Siddal Grand Final Squad

Kyle Ackroyd

George Ambler

Gareth Blackburn

Mark Boothroyd

Jason Boults

Iain Davies

Gareth English

Tom Garratt

Shaun Garrod

Jack Georgiou

Aiden Hema

Benjamin Hinsley

Zack McComb

Sean McCormack

Craig Sanderson

Byron Smith

Jake Smith

Canaan Smithies

Gavin Stead

Freddie Walker

Benjamin West

Ross White

Grand Final History

Sundays final is a repeat of last year when both clubs met each other for the first time in the showpiece event. Between the two clubs they have been involved in ten of the fourteen Grand Finals player to date, with Siddal winning three of the six they have been involved in and Miners winning two from their five.

Leigh Miners Rangers Grand Finals

2002 = Lost 24-20 v West Hull

2005 = Won 30-22 v Wath Brow Hornets

2007 = Lost 8-6 v Skirlaugh

2008 = Lost 26-10 v East Hull

2015 = Won 22-20 v Siddal

Siddal Grand Finals

2003 = Won 19-14 v West Hull

2004 = Won 18-16 v West Hull

2009 = Won 15-8 v East Hull

2010 = Lost 37-10 v Leigh East

2011 = Lost 30-18 v Thatto Heath Crusaders

2015 = Lost 22-20 v Leigh Miners Rangers

Ticket Information

Entrance is £5 for Adults & £3 for Concessions/u16s. Payment is made over the turnstiles.


From the North via M62
Take Junction 7 and then A568 dual carriageway towards Widnes following brown signs to Halton Stadium.Take Ashley Way (A562) and 2nd exit off roundabout (McDonald’s on the right) and 2nd exit off mini-roundabout into Lowerhouse Lane.

Related Posts

Comments are closed.

« »